National Honor Society Induction Celebrates Scholarship, Leadership, Character, and Service

May 11, 2017

Sacred Heart recently inducted eight new members from the Class of 2018 and 52 members from the Class of 2019 into the National Honor Society. Founded  in 1921, the National Honor Society (NHS) is the nation’s premier organization established to recognize high school students who have excelled in four characteristics during their high school years; leadership, service, character and scholarship. NHS members are not only acknowledged for their accomplishments, but continually challenged to develop further through active involvement in school activities and community service, and to work for the betterment of their community.

“Every school has its own set of rules and standards for membership. Sacred Heart candidates must have attained a cumulative GPA of 3.67 or higher in the sophomore or junior year and must also demonstrate outstanding qualities of leadership, character, and service. Once the student has become a member, she must maintain her GPA and attend all NHS meetings as well as complete service requirements,” offered co-moderator Rebecca Lendroth Hyland ’01, who presided over the ceremony with co-moderator MaryLee Delaney.

The Sacred Heart Academy Chapter of the National Honor Society is pleased to welcome the following new members:

Courtney Carlson ’18
Mary Castello ’18
Sarah Conti ’18
Danielle Filardi ’18
Reese Gallagher ’18
Alyssa Guerriri ’18
Jamison Schillo ’18
Melissa Uy ’18
Veronica Adams ’19
Julia Alvarado ’19
Taylor Andrzejewski ’19
Clare Bassano ’19
Jillian Bauknecht ’19
Anna Beebe ’19
Olivia Bizzario ’19
Genesis Brito ’19
Kayla Cameron ’19
Fatima Cardozo ’19
Isabella Crotta ’19
Jordyn Davis ’19
Samantha Dorsi ’19
Erica Drufva ’19
Morgan Duffany ’19
Alessandra Engengro ’19
Madeline Fusco ’19
Vienna Goskowski ’19
Katie Gray ’19
Catherine Herrick ’19
Emma Hohmann ’19
Swathi Jacob ’19
Gabrielle Jadach ’19
Barbara Kefalos ’19
Claire Lagarde ’19
Zoe Lamoreaux ’19
Samantha Lee ’19
Crystal Long ’19
Eleanor Luciani ’19
Czareena Maribbay ’19
Shaylin Marshall ’19
Sarah Matthews ’19
Catherine McEachern ’19
Alexa Modell ’19
Camila Mora-Cyrus ’19
Mary-Sarah Olson ’19
Cara Peccerillo ’19
Gabriela Perez ’19
Hannah Platt ’19
Alexia Pudimat ’19
Emily Ross ’19
Kelly Sandella ’19
Amanda Savona ’19
Marilyn Senger ’19
Stephanie Sullivan ’19
Beth Tine ’19
Emily Tokash ’19
Sofia Verna ’19
Arianna Vessicchio ’19
Glory Villano ’19
Vivian Wang ’19

Sacred Heart congratulates these outstanding students.
National Honor Society Pledge

I pledge myself to uphold the high purposes of the National Honor Society to which I have been selected;
I will be true to the principals for which it stands;
I will be loyal to my school;
and I will maintain and encourage high standards of scholarship, service, leadership, and character.

This post is in: Academics, Featured Articles, Parents, Students, Uncategorized

265 Benham Street, Hamden, CT 06514 P 203-288-2309 F 203-230-9680
© 2011 Sacred Heart Academy | Contact Us | Directions | Privacy Policy